Rough Cut of Video

Well, last week’s class due to technical difficulties, I wasn’t able to show a rough edit of my video due to the fact that I hadn’t even been able to get my video footage off the mini DV tape yet. It’s a long, boring story, but after working all day long yesterday after class, I was finally able to retrieve my video footage and last night and today/tonight I cobbled together a rough edit. It’s not quite what I originally envisioned but it’s heading in that direction. I doubt anyone will look at this before class next week, but on the chance someone does, I would be very grateful for any feedback anyone could offer. Please excuse the shaky camera work–believe it or not I actually used a tripod for most of it, but for some reason, I couldn’t get the tripod bearing to pan smoothly–it kept sticking a little as I pivoted. Anyway, the premise is sort of a music video of sorts (despite Professor Wong’s words of caution in that direction), chronicling the arc of a relationship in a semi-impressionistic way. As I said, the result as it exists now is not exactly what I had in mind but it’s the best I could do. If anyone sees this before next Saturday (4/25), let me know if you have any feedback or advice. Thanks!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "Rough Cut of Video", posted with vodpod

2 Responses to “Rough Cut of Video”

  1. I like it! It has a stop-motion feel to it, which looks very cool. In terms of music videos (which I’m also sticking to my guns on), I think Virgil wants more of a ‘plot,’ which is hard to establish without dialogue. I don’t really have one either, but after a gazillion hours in that lab and a day of pain attempting adobe after-effects, I could care less.

    I think your video’s awesome.

    • Katie Heimer Says:

      Thanks! I’ve done some tweaking since then but nothing majorly structural. I explained my concept to Virgil last week and he didn’t immediately dissuade me so hopefully he will be okay with the lack of a clearer “plot”. I agree, though, after the number of hours I’ve put into this thing on just getting it off the tape, let alone then editing it, I’m ready to be done with it.

Leave a Reply

