Every Tool Is A Weapon If You Hold It Right

994squirrel_shoots_back

Here is a post I wrote on my personal blog, ruminating on ethics and responsibility in photography, things that have been on my mind in thinking about the subway photography option from last week’s assignment. As I try to make clear in the post, I do not mean to call into question anyone’s motives or choice to do such a project in any way, shape, or form, but merely to use it as a point of departure for opening up a discussion about the the act of photographing others and the power dynamics created by doing so. I find it an interesting topic and one which raises a set of issues and questions, the answers to which I think are certainly far from clear-cut.

Leave a Reply

