Introductions

Hi, my name is Katie and I am a student in the New School’s Masters of Media Studies program. I am currently in my second semester in the program and thus far have done primarily theory-based classes, so I am very much looking forward to the work we will be doing in the Media Practices: Concepts class this semester. My background has been primarily in theory up to this point–I was an English major and minored in music and cultural anthropology during my undergraduate years at Vassar College. However, I have taken several summer photography classes which worked with film, not digital photography. I’m very interested personally and also professionally, in increasing my production knowledge. In fact, this program’s dual emphasis was the primary thing that drew me to it in the first place. I have many interests within the program and within media generally, several of the primary ones being issues of women in the media and media literacy and education. As of now, I plan to get into non-profit work dealing with educational reform, education, and oversight once I complete the program. This blog will be a repository for my work, ideas, thoughts, reactions, and anything else relevant to the class. I look forward to charting my progression through the class here.

My other non-class-affiliated blog can be found at katieheimer.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

